Speech Day Programme 1988
Mary Hare History

Speech Day 1988

Programme for Annual Speech Day, Friday 25 November 1988.

The Chairman of the Board of Governors will preside and ask the Principal to present his Report for the year 1987-1988.

The Chairman will invite Emma Nicholson to present prizes and address the meeting.

A Governor will propose a vote of thanks to the Guest of Honour.

Avril Hepner, the Head Girl, will propose a vote of thanks to the Chairman and the Governors.

The Pupils will sing the Commemoration Hymn, followed by the National Anthem.

After the ceremony the School, Mansell House, and the Manor House will be open for inspection by visitors.


Linda Cowan
Catherine Webb
Lucy Harvey
5 GPJennifer Beech
Alison McCann
5 CJoshua White
5 FClaire Hancock
4 GMStephanie West
Vanessa Whitehouse
4 BGJacqueline Harrison
4 DGCaroline Baker
Ian Grasmeder
3 MRSally Reynolds
3 NWHelga McGilp
3 DWNeal Caws
2 GRSamantha Burgess
Nathan Smith
2 OSJulie Graham
2 MOHeather Ferguson
1 HSNicholas Robertson
Sarah Herriott
1 BPHelen Casey
1 RWSuzanne Clubley

Dickson Memorial PrizeJanet Millard
Eichholz Memorial PrizeOwen Smith
Chairman’s PrizeNorma McGilp
Principal’s PrizeAlison McCann
S.K. Anderson Good Progress PrizesRosemary Denerley
Elizabeth Round
Phyllis M. Buckell PrizeAnthony Adams
Peter K. Hanton Memorial PrizesJoshua White
Andrew Cunningham 
Amy Sayle Memorial PrizeJennifer Dodds
Whitton Scripture PrizesVictoria Callaghan
Caroline Hunter
Elizabeth Dyson PrizesHelen Thew
Annie Fogden PrizeAlison Wood
Anne Mazey Prize for EnglishCatherine Drake
Duffell Prize for EffortKatie Clarke
Service PrizeSamantha Penney
McLellan Prize for ArtVictoria Callaghan
Pope Music PrizesCatherine Drake
David Whitmore
Newbury Amateur Dramatic Society Prizes Shelagh Douglas
Jason Wickens
Drama PrizesJanet Millard
Andrew Mell
Kenneth Bayliss PrizesMatthew Smith
Jason Gowman
Girls' Prizes for Effort and
Progress in Games
Calire Gibney
Parents' Association Club PrizeCanoeing Club

Donnington Lodge Speech Improvement Prizes

Form 1Catherine Burgess
Rachel Doidge-Harrison 
Form 2 Christopher Beech
Form 3Clare Flory
Form 4David Whitmore
Form 5Dawn Marshall
Form 6Sarah Livermore