Speech Day Programme 1986
Mary Hare History

Speech Day 1986

Programme for Annual Speech Day, Friday 21 November 1986.

The Chairman of the Board of Governors will preside and ask the Principal to present his Report for the year 1985-1986.

The Chairman will invite Bernard Peatey to present prizes and address the meeting.

A Governor will propose a vote of thanks to the Guest of Honour.

Gillian Corbett, the Head Girl, will propose a vote of thanks to the Chairman and the Governors.

The Pupils will sing the Commemoration Hymn, followed by the National Anthem.

After the ceremony the School, Mansell House, and the Manor House will be open for inspection by visitors.


Matthew James
Ben Turner
Lesley Close
5 HIan Reynolds
5 CAlison Wood
5 GRichard Keen
4 WSamantha Penney
4 CRachel Caws
4 NCaroline Porter
3 PElizabeth Round
3 CVictoria Nelson
3 FPatricia Avigliano
2 RElizabeth Brading
2 MJane Newman
Helen Thew
2 GJulie-Ann Ferguson
1 MAnna Holmes
1 HEmma Poynton
1 RYvonne Momber

Dickson Memorial PrizeAudrey Cameron
Eichholz Memorial PrizeDamian Barry
Chairman’s PrizeNorma McGilp
Principal’s PrizeClaire Cummings
S.K. Anderson Good Progress PrizeOwen Smith
Social Service PrizeAlison Prichard
Taliesin Prize (Bluebird)John Maiden
Phyllis M. Buckell PrizeCelina Reed
Peter K. Hanton Memorial Prizes Anthony Barton
Amy Sayle Memorial PrizeCaroline Hunter
Whitton Scripture PrizeSusan Toone
Elizabeth Dyson PrizesDavid Woolley
Kenneth Bayliss PrizesJoshua White
James McAlorum
McLellan Prize for ArtCharlotte Bailey
Pope Music PrizeDavid Whitmore
Daniel Birtles
Newbury Amateur Dramatic Society Prize Leo Mansell
Drama PrizesCaroline Hunter
Yvonne Haswell
Philip Cassingham
Girls' Prizes for Effort and
Progress in Games
Avril Hepner
Susan Toone
Parents' Association Club PrizeNetball Club
Anne Mazey Prize for EnglishMyles Nesbitt
Duffell Prize for EffortChristopher Harrison 

Donnington Lodge Speech Improvement Prizes

Form 1Emma Poynton
Form 2 Michael Ault
Form 3Rosemary Denerley
Christopher Bennett 
Form 4Melissa Mostyn
Form 5Sharon Hirshman
Form 6Audrey Cameron