Speech Day Programme 1982
Mary Hare History

Speech Day 1982

Programme for Annual Speech Day, Friday 12 November 1982.

The Chairman of the Board of Governors, Dr. Elizabeth Dyson, will preside and ask the Principal to present his Report for the year 1981-1982.

The Chairman will invite Hugh Rossi, M.P. to present the prizes and address the meeting.

Mr. T.D.W. Whitfield, M.A., Ll.B., will propose a vote of thanks to the Guest of Honour.

The Pupils will sing the Commemoration Hymn, followed by the National Anthem.

After the ceremony the School, Mansell House, and the Manor House will be open for inspection by visitors.


Philip Gafga
Jonathan Parsons
6 XMandy Clarke
5 RFiona Rosie
5 MIsabel Wright
5 QPhilip Turner
4 RAngela Daniels
4 MMartin Taylor
4 QWilliam Claphan
3 HPenelope Broomfield
3 MClaire Cummings
3 GMatthew James
2 RJoanna Wooten
2 SChristopher Harrison
2 MMichelle Walters
2 QCarol Fletcher
1 MIan Reynolds
1 GPhilip Ward
1 HBryce Welham

Dickson Memorial PrizeSarah Jane Arbuthnot 
Eichholz Memorial PrizeNicholas Brookes
Chairman’s PrizeVivien Coward
Principal’s PrizeRichard Pearce
S.K. Anderson Good Progress PrizeMatthew Johnston
Social Service PrizeMandy Clarke
Taliesin Prize (Bluebird)Sally Ramsden
Phyllis M. Buckell PrizeIlan Dwek
Annie Fogden PrizeRachel Peacock
Peter K. Hanton Memorial Prize Robert Banfield
Amy Sayle Memorial PrizeSusan Hancock
Whitton Scripture PrizeAlison Hardaker
Elizabeth Dyson PrizeHamish Drewry
Kenneth Bayliss PrizesMatthew James
Alistair Wright
McLellan Prize for ArtShiela Mulligan
Pope Music PrizesJoanne Farrow
Harry Sida
Staff Special PrizesAnne Mazey
Philip Gafga
Parents’ Association Clue PrizeThe Badminton Club

Donnington Lodge Speech Improvement Prizes

Form 1Sharon Hirshman 
Form 2 David Sheppard
Form 3Julie Thornton
Form 4Zoe Talbot
Form 5Philip Blyth
Form 6Susan Coker

Newbury Amateur Dramatic Society Prizes

First FormCatherine Drake
Easter PlayAndrew Rodda