Speech Day Programme 1981
Mary Hare History

Speech Day 1981

Programme for Annual Speech Day, Friday 02 October 1981.

The Chairman of the Board of Governors, Dr. Elizabeth Dyson, will preside and ask the Principal to present his Report for the year 1980-1981.

The Chairman will invite Barry Took to present the prizes and address the meeting.

Mrs. W. L. Tumim, B.A., will propose a vote of thanks to the Guest of Honour.

Sara Jane Arbuthnot, the Head Girl, will propose a vote of thanks to the Chairman and the Governors.

The Pupils will sing the Commemoration Hymn, followed by the National Anthem.

After the ceremony the School, Mansell House, and the Manor House will be open for inspection by visitors.


Upper 6Tilak Ratnanather
Lower 6Louise Brooke
6 XJoanne Peatey
5 RGethin Thomas
5 MJonathan Parsons
5 QMichael Boyne
4 RNiall Fearon
4 MHelen Shirley
4 QPhilip Turner
3 RAngela Daniels
3 MMark Fox
3 QPhaedra Barr
2 RClaire Cummings
2 MAudrey Camerson
2 QSean Peake
I SChristopher Harrison
I RJoanna Wootten
I MMatthew Chapman
I QJane Oliver

Dickson Memorial PrizeSarah Pope
Eichholz Memorial PrizeAndrew Williams
Chairman’s PrizeKatherine Liddy
Principal’s PrizeJillian Coates
S.K. Anderson Good Progress PrizeTracey Bargh
Social ServiceJoanne Nicholls
Jayne Cambage
Taliesin Prize (Bluebird)Sally Ramsden
Phyllis M. Buckell PrizeMark Perry
Annie Fogden PrizeSusan Williams
Peter K. Hanton Memorial Prize Bosco Keown
Amy Sayle Memorial PrizeAlison Pritchard
Whitton Scripture PrizeSusan Coker
Elizabeth Dyson PrizeDavid Woolley
Kenneth Bayliss PrizesJohn Lewis
Christopher Ratcliffe 
McLellan Prize for ArtShivaun Lewis
Pope Music PrizesJayne Cambage
Philip Blyth
Staff Special PrizesAnne Mazey
Philip Gafga
Parents’ Association Clue PrizeThe Badminton Club

Donnington Lodge Speech Improvement Prizes

Form 1Martin Rice
Form 2 Penelope Broomfield 
Form 3Phaedra Barr
Form 4Fiona Rosie
Form 5Alan Cook
Form 6Barbara Brown

Newbury Amateur Dramatic Society Prizes

First FormPhilip Duffell
NativityUrsula Hulme
Easter PlayDavid Ingham
Philipson Prizes Paul Mills
Benjamin Turner 

Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme (Gold Award)

 Louise McKenzie
 Gail Davies
 Ruth Nunn