Speech Day Programme 1977
Mary Hare History

Speech Day 1977

Programme for Annual Speech Day, Friday 23 September 1977.

The Chairman of the Board of Governors, Mr. R.W. Holledge, will preside and ask the Principal to present his Report for the year 1976-1977.

The Chairman will invite Mrs Mary Warnock to present the prizes and address the meeting.

Mr. J.E. Coventon will propose a vote of thanks to the Guest of Honour.

Jane Robinson, the Head Girl, will propose a vote of thanks to the Chairman and the Governors.

The Pupils will sing the Commemoration Hymn, followed by the National Anthem.

After the ceremony the Blount Hall will be officially opened by Mr Geoffrey Warnock, Principal of Hertford College, Oxford.


Upper 6Deborah Mann
Lower 6Colin Dunlop
6 XDoreen Newby
5 SChristopher Lehfeldt
5 TDahlia Weinbaum
5 USusan Carr
4 RFiona Hall
4 MCatharine Clough
4 QShelley Gibson
3 RSarah Pope
3 MJillian Coates
3 QChristine Powell
2 RJessica Rees
2 MMark Cunliffe
2 QAlison Gundhill
I RSally Ramsden
I MMark Perry
I QJulie Smith

Dickson Memorial PrizeLesley Sheldon
Eichholz Memorial PrizeColin Stubbings
Chairman’s PrizeDavid Carslaw
Principal’s PrizeAlison Mayer
S.K. Anderson Good Progress PrizePaul Mills
Social ServiceDoreen Newby
Taliesin Prize (Bluebird)Stephen Saunders
Phyllis M. Buckell PrizeRuth Nunn
Annie Fogden PrizeLesley Walker
Peter K. Hanton Memorial Prize Terence White
Whitton Scripture PrizeSarah Pope
Amy Sayle Memorial PrizeAnnalise den Engelse 
Elizabeth Dyson PrizeRupert Woodman
Kenneth Bayliss PrizesRobert Morrison
John Galbraith
McLellan Prize for ArtJane Waldron

Donnington Lodge Speech Improvement Prizes

Form 1Heather Simpson 
Form 2 Abigail Johnston
Form 3Jillian Coates
Form 4Louise McKenzie
Form 5Helen Keightley
David Galbraith
Form 6Doreen Newby