Speech Day Programme 1968
Mary Hare History

Speech Day 1968

Programme for Annual Speech Day, Friday 27 September 1968.

The Chairman of the Board of Governors, Mr. John H. Blount, will preside and will ask

The Mayor of Newbury, Alderman L. L. Hall to welcome guests.

The Chairman will ask the Principal to present his REPORT for the year 1967-1968.

The Chairman will invite The Hon. David John Smith, CBE, to present the Prizes and to address the meeting.

Mr. R.W. Holledge will propose a vote of thanks to the Guest of Honour.

Malcolm Jones, the Senior Prefect, will propose a vote of thanks to the Mayor, the Chairman, and the Governors.

Pupils will sing the Commemoration Hymn, followed by the National Anthem.

After the ceremony the School, Mansell House and the Manor House will be open for inspection by visitors.


U6SAshley Cocks
U6AHazel Lane-Smith
L6SMichael Freshwater
L6ADiane Phillips
V AJudith Walton
V BJohn Turner
V CMargaret Nealon
IV ASusan Gill
IV BTrevor Dommett
IV CDerek Meechan
III AJohn Stuart
III BAlison Saunders-Davies
III CRobert Quilty
II AGillian Avison
II BJudith Hyslop
II CDavid McLeman
I AJanes Goldsworthy
I BIan Depledge
I CAshok Chawla

Dickson Memorial PrizeLilian Lawson
Eichholz Memorial PrizePhilip Ottaway
Chairman’s PrizeJane Freshwater
Principal’s PrizeRobin Pritchard
Prizes for SpeechClare Chapman
Shirley Priest
S.K. Anderson Prizes for Good Progress Denise Curtis
Elizabeth Greeff
Prize for Social ServiceSally Partridge
Joseph Fagan
Taliesin PrizeMary Braidwood
McLellan Prize for ArtPenelope Aldenton 
Phyllis M. Buckell Memorial PrizeIan Poplett
Annie Fogden Memorial PrizeJacqueline Davies
Peter K. Hanton Memorial PrizeMichael Batten
Whitton Scripture PrizeHilary Blank