Speech Day Programme 1967
Mary Hare History

Speech Day 1967

Programme for Annual Speech Day, Friday 29 September 1967.

The Chairman of the Board of Governors, Mr. John H. Blount, will preside and will ask

The Mayor of Newbury, Councillor C. C. Hall to welcome guests.

The Chairman will ask the Principal to present his REPORT for the year 1966-1967.

The Chairman will invite Sir Ronald Gould to present the Prizes and to address the meeting.

Sir Walter Howard, will propose a vote of thanks to Sir Ronald Gould.

Phillip Ottaway, the Senior Prefect, will propose a vote of thanks to the Mayor, the Chairman, and the Governors.

Pupils will sing the Commemoration Hymn, followed by the National Anthem.

After the ceremony the School, Mansell House and the Manor House will be open for inspection by visitors.


U6SPaul Kenward
U6ACedric Moon
L6SLilian Lawson
L6AHazel Lane-Smith
V ADiane Phillips
V BChristina Keith
V CMichael Freshwater
IV AMichael Brown
IV BAnthony Troy
IV CAlison Stewart
III AAndrew Snee
III BAnne Robinson
III CDerek Meechan
II AMary Davies
II BKay Crowle
II CJohn Lintott
I ARobert Smyth
I BPauline Kelly
I CMarion Watson

Dickson Memorial PrizePatricia Saville
Eichholz Memorial PrizePhilip Ottaway
Chairman’s PrizeBarbara McCaffery
Principal’s PrizeAndrew Curran
Prizes for SpeechJane Freshwater
Moshe Mouchizadeh 
Prizes for Good ProgressShirley Priest
John Marshall
Prize for Social ServiceRoy Daley
Laraine Oldfield
Taliesin PrizeMary braidwood
McLellan Prize for ArtMelinda Prideaux
Phyllis M. Buckell Memorial Prize Ebrahim Ismail
Annie Fogden Memorial PrizeJanet Knell
Peter K. Hanton Memorial PrizeHugh Ivins
Whitton Scripture PrizeAnne Coxall