Speech Day Programme 1966
Mary Hare History

Speech Day 1966

Programme for Annual Speech Day, Friday 23 September 1966.

The Chairman of the Board of Governors, Mr. John H. Blount, will preside and will ask

The Mayor of Newbury, Councillor Mrs. E.V. Ganf to welcome guests.

The Chairman will ask the Principal to present his REPORT for the year 1965-1966.

The Chairman will invite Miss Beryl Grey to present the Prizes and to address the meeting.

Mrs W.F. Houghton, will propose a vote of thanks to Miss Grey.

Patricia Saville, the Head Girl, will propose a vote of thanks to the Mayor, the Chairman, and the Governors.

Pupils will sing the Commemoration Hymn, followed by the National Anthem.

After the ceremony the School, Mansell House and the Manor House will be open for inspection by visitors.


VI SUPatricia Morris
VI AUPeter Worthington
VI SLPaul Kenward
V AHazel Lane-Smith
V BMichael Brooks
V CRobin Pritchard
IV ARosanne Davies
IV BFiona Dunlop
IV CDiane Phillips
III APeter Berry
III BAnthony Troy
III CKevin Horner
II AAndrew Snee
II BAnn Robinson
II CLesley Milne
I AJohn Stuart
I BAlison Saunders-Davies
I CJohn Lintott

Dickson Memorial PrizeEleanor Chapman
Eichholz Memorial PrizeRoger Hewitt
Chairman’s PrizeAshley Cocks
Principal’s PrizeLilian Lawson
Prizes for SpeechChristina Clare
John Hay
Prizes for Good ProgressPhilip Parker
Michael Freshwater 
Prize for Social ServiceRosemary Felstead
"The Bluebird"Barbara Mccaffery
Mary Braidwood
McLellan Prize for ArtEleanor Chapman
Phyllis M. Buckell Memorial Prize Trevor Dommett
Ann Fogden Memorial PrizeJudith Barker
Peter K. Hanton Memorial PrizeJeffrey Howl
Whitton Scripture PrizeHelen Corney
Ann Robinson