Speech Day Programme 1965
Mary Hare History

Speech Day 1965

Programme for Annual Speech Day, Friday 19 November 1965.

The Chairman of the Board of Governors, Mr. John H. Blount, will preside and will ask

The Mayor of Newbury, Councillor F. H. Graham to welcome guests.

The Chairman will ask the Principal to present his REPORT for the year 1964-1965.

The Chairman will invite Mrs. Lumsden to present the Certificates and Prizes
and Mr. James Lumsden to Address the meeting.

Mr G.B. Mansell, will propose a vote of thanks to Mr. Lumsden.

Eleanor Chapman, the Senior Prefect, will propose a vote of thanks to the Mayor and the Chairman.

Pupils will sing the Commemoration Hymn, followed by the National Anthem.

After the ceremony the School, Mansell House and the Manor House will be open for inspection by visitors.


VI SUChristopher Jones
VI ALEleanor Chapman
VI SLDavid Bleackley
V ACedric Moon
V BStephen Greasley
V CAngus Tweedy
IV AGillian Daly
IV BJane Freshwater
IV CMaureen Anderson
III AJennifer Atkin
III BElizabeth Greeff
III CMichael Freshwater
II APeter Berry
II BJoseph Fagan
II CAlan Hancock
I AAndrew Snee
I BSimon Mayer
I CJanice Mallery

Dickson Memorial PrizeJanet Draper
Eichholz Memorial PrizeMartin Wood
Chairman’s PrizeJean Chalk
Principal’s PrizePatricia Saville
Prizes for SpeechLilian Lawson
Robin Pritchard
Prizes for Good ProgressGeraldine Dunlop
Andrew Bougeard
Prizes for Social ServiceJohn Hay
Sylvia Coe
"The Bluebird"Peter Worthington
Mary Braidwood
McLellan Prize for ArtAnthony Winstanley
Phyllis M. Buckell Memorial Prize Moshe Mouchizadeh
Ann Fogden Memorial PrizeAnn Robinson
Peter K. Hanton Memorial PrizeMichael Batten
Whitton Scripture PrizeSenior: Peter Worthington 
Junior: Judith Renshaw