Speech Day Programme 1963
Mary Hare History

Speech Day 1963

Programme for Annual Speech Day, Monday 28 October 1963.

The Chairman of the Board of Governors, Mr. George Mansell, OBE, will preside and will ask.

The Mayor of Newbury, Councillor John Marshall to welcome guests.

The Chairman will introduce Mr. Christopher Chataway, MP, who will address the meeting
and declare MANSELL HOUSE to be OPEN.

The Chairman will ask the Principal to present his REPORT for the year 1962-1963.

The Chairman will invite Mrs. Chataway to present the Certificates and Prizes
and Mr. Chataway to Address the meeting.

Mr John H. Blount, Vice Chairman of the Board of Governors, will propose a vote of thanks to Mr. Chataway.

Michael Davis, the Senior Prefect, will propose a vote of thanks to the Mayor and the Chairman.

Pupils will sing the Commemoration Hymn followed by the National Anthem.

After the ceremony the School, Mansell House and the Manor House will be open for inspection by visitors.


VI AMary Bavister
VI SAustin Reeves
V AJanet Draper
V BChristopher Jones
V CIrene Capper
IV APeter Worthington
IV BDavid Bleackley
IV CJames Phillips
III APaul Kenward
III BMary Maloney
III CAndrew Curran
II APhilip Ottaway
II BJane Freshwater
II CGillian Daly
I AHugh Ivins
I BJeffrey Howl
I CJanet Rollason

Dickson Memorial PrizeCarole Price
Eichholz Memorial PrizeMichael Davis
Chairman’s PrizeSandra Tregaskis 
Principal’s PrizeBrenda Cade
Prizes for SpeechPatricia Saville
Neil Kaufman
Prizes for Good ProgressMabel Hardie
Roger Hewitt
Prizes for Social ServicePeter Hay
Margaret Capaldi
"The Bluebird"Carole Price
David Bleackley
McLellan Prize for ArtVerlie Watts
Phyllis M. Buckell Memorial Prize Robin Pritchard
Annie Fogden Memorial PrizeFiona Dunlop
Whitton Scripture PrizeSusanne Webb
Prizes for Holiday ReadingBetty Dingle
Andrew Arthur
Mary Braidwood