Speech Day Programme 1961
Mary Hare History

Speech Day 1961

Programme for Annual Speech Day, Friday 27 October 1961.

The Chairman’s Remarks.

Welcome by The Mayor of Newbury, Councillor H.K. Potter.

The Principal's Report.

Distribution of Certificates and Prizes and address by Dame Mary Smieton, DBE, MA.

Vote of Thanks.

Demonstration of Speech and Singing by the pupils.


VIJohn Harmsworth
V AMary Bavister
V BDavid Jackson
V RJanet Beech
IV AJulia Smith
IV BMichael Davis
III ARobert Reynolds
III BRoger Palmer
III CIrene Capper
II AAndrea Whitehall
II BMargaret Gill
II CHazel Witts
I ABarbara McCaffery
I BAnthony Winstanley
I CChristina Clare

Dickson Memorial PrizeRosemary Mackenzie 
Eichholz Memorial PrizeDavid Warner
Chairman’s PrizeJennifer Dickens
Principal’s PrizeLynne Jones
Prizes for SpeechChristina Sparrow
Angus Tweedy
Prizes for Good ProgressTrevor Shaw
Pat Saville
Prizes for Social ServiceBrian Taylor
Peter Hay
Gaynor Turner
"The Bluebird"Carole Price
McLellan Prize for ArtHilary Yarnton
Phyllis M. Buckell Memorial Prize Paul Kenward
Prizes for Holiday ReadingJulia Smith
Pat Saville
Barbara McCaffery