Speech Day Programme 1960
Mary Hare History

Speech Day 1960

Programme for Annual Speech Day, Friday 04 November 1960.

The Chairman’s Remarks.

Welcome by The Mayor of Newbury, Councillor R.J. Lovegrove.

The Principal's Report.

Distribution of Certificates and Prizes and address by Sir John Wolfenden, CBE, MA.

Vote of Thanks.

Demonstration of Speech and Singing by the pupils.


VIDavid Charles-Edwards
V ARaymond Batkin
V BDoreen Borthwick
IV AMary Bavister
IV BDavid Jackson
III AAustin Reeves
III BMichael Davis
II AJanet Draper
II BMaureen Jagger
II CIrene Capper
I AJean Smithers
I BDavid Bleackley

Head Boys’s Prize 1959-60Norman Moore
Dickson Memorial Prize for the Head Girl 1959-60 Wendy Earl
Eichholz Memorial PrizeGeoffrey Hiller
Chairman’s PrizeClaire McNaughton 
Principal’s PrizePeter Howes
Prizes for SpeechMichael Webster
Grace Willis
Prizes for Good ProgressKenneth Dyson
Trevor Shaw
Prizes for Social ServiceDavid Warner
Henry Cowley
Jill Cross
Prize for contribution to "The Bluebird"Janet Anscombe
Barrett Prize for PoetryPeter Benwell
McLellan Prize for ArtDavina Pritchard
Phyllis M. Buckell Memorial PrizePeter Worthington
Prizes for Holiday ReadingJohn Harmsworth
Julia Smith
Jacqueline Radford