Speech Day Programme 1959
Mary Hare History

Speech Day 1959

Programme for Annual Speech Day, Friday 30 October 1959.

The Chairman’s Remarks.

Welcome by The Mayor of Newbury, Councillor J.M. Freeman.

The principal's Report.

Distribution of Certificates and Prizes and address by Lady Templer.

Vote of Thanks.

Demonstration of Speech and Singing by the pupils.


Prize for outstanding work at the "O" level of the General
Certificate of Education: John Harmsworth.

VI SNorman Moore
VI GAnthony Long
V AMichael Sabell
V BWendy Earl
IV AAlan Harwood
IV BHilary Yarnton
III AMary Bavister
III BJill Cross
II ABetty Dingle
II BMichael Davis
I ARobert Reynolds
I BMaureen Jagger
I CIrene Capper

Head Boys’s Prize 1958-59Malcolm Crookes
Dickson Memorial Prize for the Head Girl 1958-59 Jean M. Elliott
Eichholz Memorial PrizeMargaret Jeffries
Chairman’s PrizeRosemary MacKenzie 
Principal’s PrizePeter Danzig
Prizes for SpeechValerie Howarth
Trevor Shaw
Prizes for Good ProgressShirley Boniface
John Anker
Janice Mehew
Prizes for Social ServiceDavid Hogg
Lorraine Slack
Stefan Lakey-Porter
Prize for contribution to "The Bluebird"Dawn Milner
Barrett Prize for PoetryCarole Price
McLellan Prize for ArtMarlene Wilkinson
Phyllis M. Buckell Memorial PrizeAlan Paull
Prizes for Holiday ReadingJoan Brierley
Carole Price
Janet Draper